An owner of a rent stabilized or rent controlled apartment may collect a surcharge from the tenant. The New York State Division of Homes and Community Renewal (NYSHCR) has established a one-time maximum fee of $10.00 per window guard for rent control or rent stabilized apartments.
The fee may be imposed a month after installation of the window guards. The cost of window guards installed in public areas may not be passed on to tenants in the building.
Recipients of public assistance, holders of Section 8 certificates, households receiving Senior Citizen Rent Increase Exemptions (SCRIE), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or State payments under Section 209 of the Social Service Law, will not be required to pay this charge out-of-pocket.
Instead, the Human Resources Administration will reimburse owners after the tenant submits an itemized bill on the owner's stationery following the window guard installation.
Recipients of SSI or Section 209 subsidies may contact their Social Services District Office with an itemized bill from the owner following the window guard installation.
- Agency: New York State Homes and Community Renewal
- Division: Rent Administration Offices
- Phone Number: (718) 739-6400
- Business Hours: 24 hours, 7 days a week
- Automated telephone system with recorded information in English and Spanish.
You can get in person assistance in multiple languages at an HCR Borough Rent Office. To find an HCR Borough Rent Office, go to the Rent Regulated Apartments page.