Coronavirus (COVID-19) Alert

The State enacted a law providing benefits to workers impacted by mandatory or precautionary orders of quarantine or isolation due to COVID-19. If your employer doesn't comply with this law, you have the right to file a complaint.

You can report that:

  • You're being forced to work for an essential business, but:
    • You're being forced to go to work when your job could be performed from home
    • Your employer isn't following health and safety mandates
    • You're scared because you are over 70 and/or you have an underlying illness.
  • Your employer has failed to pay you wages owed for hours worked, earned sick pay, or paid time off
  • You qualify for COVID-19 paid sick leave and your employer refuses to pay it
  • Your employer has threatened or fired you for reasons related to COVID-19
  • Your employer is forcing you to work when you're sick


File a complaint against your employer or workplace.


Email the State Attorney General's Labor Bureau at

By Phone

Call the State Attorney General's Labor Bureau at (212) 416-8700.

You can get information about laws that apply to workers and their employers.

You can make a complaint against your employer for unfair or illegal practices. 


Get information about labor laws.

Report unfair or illegal labor practices.

File a Claim for Unpaid Wages.

By Phone

  • Agency: New York State Department of Labor
  • Division: Division of Labor Standards Local Office
  • Phone Number: (888) 469-7365
  • Business Hours: Monday - Friday: 9 AM - 5 PM
  • Staff is available through the automated phone system during business hours.

Under NYC’s Paid Safe and Sick Leave Law, covered employees can use sick leave:

  • For diagnosis, care, or treatment of illness, injury, or health condition or for preventive medical care for employee or anyone employee considers family.
  • When a public official closes employee’s business or child’s school or child care provider due to a public health emergency.
  • To recover from side effects of the COVID-19 vaccine.

Employees may be eligible for 2 additional days as unpaid leave under NYC’s Temporary Schedule Change Law. See the Temporary Work Schedule Change page for more information. 


All private and public sector workers in New York State get up to 4 hours per vaccine injection, for a total of up to 8 hours.

This law is effective from March 12, 2021 through December 31, 2022.

Visit the New York State Department of Labor's website.

Paid Leave for COVID-19 Vaccinations is in addition to accrued leave under State or City Paid Sick Leave Laws. New York State’s Paid Sick Leave Law took effect September 30, 2020. Workers may use accrued leave under City law to recover from side effects of the COVID-19 vaccine. Leave may also be covered by State law.

Mandatory Quarantine or Isolation

The federal and state governments passed laws to protect workers. Although the federal law expired on December 31, 2020, workers may be able to claim federal benefits for sick leave used in 2020.

Workers who need an order of quarantine or isolation (COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave Documentation) to give their employers can contact the NYC Department of Health.

New York State Emergency COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave

The state law covers government-ordered quarantine or isolation only.

Note: Workers who used leave in 2020 and were eligible for federal benefits must use them first and may only use state benefits if the state law provides more benefits than what federal law allowed.

Employees get leave for the duration of quarantine or isolation. Rate of pay is based on number of employees and, in some cases, business earnings.

Number of EmployeesBusiness IncomeRate of Pay
1-10Less than $1 million in prior yearUnpaid (all days)
More than $1 million in prior yearPaid (at least 5 days)
Unpaid (remaining days)
11-99Not applicablePaid (at least 5 days)
Unpaid (remaining days)
100+Not applicablePaid (at least 14 days)

Employees may qualify for COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave for up to 3 orders of quarantine or isolation.

Employees can use Paid Family Leave or disability benefits for the mandatory quarantine or isolation period not covered by sick days paid directly by their employer.

Exception: Workers who voluntarily travel to states designated as high risk cannot access state paid sick leave benefits or other paid benefits under the law. 

Learn more about emergency paid sick leave for COVID-19.

Federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act

The federal law was effective from April 2, 2020 through December 31, 2020. Workers may be able to claim federal benefits for sick leave used during this time frame in 2020 even though the law expired. As of January 1, 2021, employers have the option to provide leave and request reimbursement from the federal government; however, there is no federal requirement to provide leave.

The federal law covers businesses with up to 500 full-time and part-time employees. The U.S. Department of Labor has issued regulations exempting certain health care providers, emergency responders, and small businesses (50 or fewer employees) with documented financial difficulties.

  • Full-time employees get up to 2 weeks (80 hours) leave.
  • Part-time employees get their average hours for a 2-week work period in leave.

The rate of pay depends on the use.

Full-time and part-time employees get their regular rate of pay up to $511 per day (up to $5,110 total) for:

  • Mandatory quarantine or isolation
  • Doctor-recommended self-quarantine
  • Medical diagnosis due to symptoms of COVID-19

Full-time and part-time employees get 2/3 of their regular rate of pay up to $200 per day (up to $2,000 total) for:

  • Care for a family member under mandatory or doctor-recommended self-quarantine
  • Care for child due to school or child care facility closing or because child care provider unavailable due to COVID-19 (In this situation, workers are eligible for up to an additional 10 weeks of leave at 2/3 pay rate.)
  • Any other substantially similar condition as specified by relevant federal agencies

Employees may be eligible for expanded paid or unpaid leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).

You can get more information from the U.S. Department of Labor.

Visit the U.S. Department of Labor website.

As of December 31, 2019, the minimum wage for workers in New York City is $15 per hour for all businesses.

For all workers in New York State, the minimum wage is set to rise to $15 by December 31, 2021.

If the Federal minimum wage increases above the State minimum wage, the State wage will rise accordingly.

Learn more about New York State minimum wage laws.

You can also get help with Unpaid Wage Recovery.

You can get information about New York State's Paid Family Leave Law.

This law provides New Yorkers with job-protected, paid leave to bond with a new child, care for a loved one with a serious health condition, or to help relieve family pressures when someone is called to active military service abroad.


Get information about Paid Family Leave.

By Phone

  • Agency: New York State Department of Labor
  • Division: Paid Family Leave Helpline
  • Phone Number: (844) 337-6303
  • Business Hours: Monday - Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM