Coronavirus (COVID-19) Alert

New Applicants

New applicants for the Mobile Food Vending License can submit an application by mail or in person.

By Mail

DCA Licensing Center
42 Broadway
New York, NY 10004

In Person

By Appointment Only. Please email LicensingAppointments@dca.nyc.gov or call (212) 436-0441 (Monday - Friday, 8 AM - 4 PM).

Renewing Licensees

New York City’s Emergency Executive Orders that extended license expiration dates and renewal application deadlines because of the COVID-19 pandemic ended. The deadline to renew your Mobile Food Vending License depends on the expiration date.

Visit the Department of Health's permits and licenses page for the latest updates.

Important

  • Pre-permit inspections are by appointment only.
  • The Health Academy class and exam are now virtual. New applicants should check the back of your application receipt which explains what you need to do before the class and exam.

Need something else?

If you will sell food from a permitted pushcart or truck year-round you must have a Full-Term Mobile Food Vending License. All license applicants must attend and pass a Mobile Food Vendor Food Protection Course before they are issued a license. The license is required before applying for the permit.

Fee

The license fee is $50. United States veterans are exempt from the fee.

The combined fee for the license renewal and tax clearance is $60. United States veterans are exempt from the license fee but must pay $10 for the tax clearance.

The cost of the course is $53. Applicants apply for the license and register for the class at the same time.

Currently, only in-person applications and registrations are available.

Expiration Date

The license expires every 2 years on staggered dates.

You can request a license application packet, which includes forms and information about requirements.

Online

Visit the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene's permit page.

By Mail

Call 311 to request a paper copy.

You can get information on renewing your license online through the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene's website. 

Visit the Department of Health's permits and licenses page.

You can get the status of your application.

Call 311 for assistance.

You can get answers to license-specific questions and information about application requirements.

Call 311 for assistance.

Under a new Local Law enacted this year, the NYC Health Department will issue an additional 445 mobile food vending permits each year for 10 years beginning in July 2022. People who are already on a mobile food vending waiting list and have held a mobile food vending license since March 1, 2017 will be eligible first.

The public is invited to provide comments on the proposed changes to the waiting list. Comments can be provided online, by mail or at a public meeting on September 27, 2021.

Submit comments.

Learn more about the public hearing and the opportunity to comment.

Liquid error: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.