Car services or For-Hire Vehicles (FHVs) provide prearranged transportation service in New York City.

These vehicles can’t accept street hails and must schedule trips with passengers by phone or through a website or smartphone app.

The following vehicles are considered car services:

  • Black cars
  • App-based transportation, such as Lyft, Uber, Via, or Revel
  • Limousines
  • Ambulettes (paratransit vehicles)
  • Commuter Vans
  • Livery

The Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) regulates for-hire transportation. The TLC does not regulate food delivery services or other delivery services, such as Uber Eats and Caviar. Customers should contact app-based companies for assistance.

The Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) doesn’t regulate prices for car service companies. However, car service companies must charge State tax and surcharges, and may charge for tolls or fees.

Tolls

Car service companies (bases) generally require passengers to pay any bridge or tunnel tolls. Before placing your trip request, you should check with the base to see if the passenger is required to pay for the tolls.

Congestion Surcharge

New York State has imposed a congestion surcharge for trips that both begin and end in New York State and that begin in, end in, or pass through Manhattan south of (but not including) 96th Street.

The congestion surcharge is not related to traffic conditions on individual trips. It is an industry-wide surcharge on all for-hire transportation.

The surcharge is $2.75 per trip. Pool trips (shared rides) are 75 cents.

Learn more about the congestion surcharge.

Taxes

The New York State's Department of Taxation and Finance charges an 8.375% tax for passengers using a car service, limousine, or a black car service.

This is a State tax and is not collected by the Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC).

As a passenger, you have the right to:

  • Ride in a safe, clean vehicle
  • Ride in a vehicle that displays:
    • A Taxi and Limousine Commission decal in the rear window or door
    • A driver’s license and picture
    • Passenger Bill of Rights sign
  • Not tip for poor service or be charged more than the agreed-upon price (unless the trip changes)
  • Be picked up regardless of your race, gender, sexual orientation, disability, or destination in New York City
  • A driver who is polite and fulfills requests to adjust radio volume or to turn on the air conditioner or heat
  • A driver who isn’t using a cell phone while driving, even with a hands-free headset

Learn more about your rights as a passenger.

You can report a problem with a car service company or driver on the Car Service Complaint page.

Car service drivers can’t refuse to pick you up or cancel a ride based on:

  • Destination
  • Race
  • Gender
  • Disability
  • Sexual orientation

Drivers can refuse service if:

  • They are not on duty
  • The passenger is smoking
  • The passenger is disorderly or intoxicated

Refusal Based on Destination

It is against the law for a car service driver to refuse a person based on destination in New York City when prearranged.

A car service driver is required to drive a passenger to any destination in:

  • New York City
  • Nassau and Westchester counties
  • Newark Liberty Airport

You can report service refusals to the TLC on the Car Service Complaint page.

Refusal Based on Identity or Status

It’s illegal to refuse to drive passengers based on their perceived or actual race, gender, disability, sexual orientation, or another group protected by the City’s Human Rights Law. It’s also against Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) rules.

To make a discrimination complaint with the Commission on Human Rights, visit the Discrimination page.

You can report service refusal to the TLC on the Car Service Complaint page.

All car services must provide wheelchair-accessible service to people with disabilities when requested, at an equivalent price and service level as non-wheelchair accessible transportation.

On November 1, 2020, a new seat belt law went into effect in New York State. All drivers and passengers must buckle up regardless of age or where they sit in the vehicle.

Wearing a seatbelt is required in personal cars and when riding in a taxi or for-hire vehicle (FHV), including on app-based trips.

The penalty for a seat belt violation is a fine of up to $50 for the passenger and up to $100 and 3 points for the driver if a child under 16 is not properly buckled.

If you are riding with a child in a taxi or for-hire vehicle, you are encouraged to bring your own car seat. The driver must allow you to install your car seat.

A taxicab or car service driver may refuse service to a person with an animal that is not properly or adequately secured in a kennel case or other suitable container.

A taxicab or car service driver may not refuse service to a person traveling with a Service Animal. Service Animals accompanying people with disabilities do not require a container.